Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Assalaamu alaikum!

A while back I wrote about how I did a lot of purging of belongings and became much less materialistic. I’d like to talk a little bit more about this today.

I was raised by hoarders – like, proper hoarders. Our home was filthy. I kind of learned to hold onto things because 1) that was the environment around me; and 2) my belongings were one of the very few things I could control in the midst of a very out of control situation. So I learned to treasure material things wayyyyy too much. In 2014 when I went to Portugal I had to live out of two suitcases for three months. One of the suitcases was full of medications and some toiletries, so my wardrobe had to fit in one suitcase. And you know what? It actually wasn’t nearly as challenging as I thought it would be! I really didn’t miss my big wardrobe. When I came back and shortly thereafter Daniel and I got married, I had to majorly downsize so that Daniel’s things could fit in our closet. At that point I realized how much I didn’t need. That got me interested in minimalism, partly in hopes of distancing myself from my childhood demons.

Now I am struggling a bit with being a minimalist because my weight fluctuates so much that I am constantly needing to buy more clothes. I never know what size I’ll be wearing in the next, say, two months. But I am trying to shop more mindfully, buying only what I truly love and not compromising just so I can say I bought something. I am also trying to think more about the quality of what I purchase, and whether it could still fit me if I go up or down in size a little bit. I am also trying to be realistic with myself, giving away what I honestly will probably never fit into again. I don’t have many belongings beside clothes, accessories, and toiletries, because my husband and I live with my mom (that’s a topic for another post!).

I have Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. I have been struggling to not obsess about not living up to my minimalist ideals. I imagine myself having a perfect capsule wardrobe, donating a piece every time I buy one, eating a clean and simple vegetarian diet, and shopping only rarely. Unfortunately I am not doing those things, and I am not sure how to get back on track. Hopefully I can improve. I am planning to go through my closet again in the next few days and get rid of things that no longer fit, and reorganize what does fit. After doing this I may do a post showing some hijabi outfit ideas and explaining how I put together modest outfits. What do you all think about that?

I guess this is all for today. If you have any blog post suggestions, drop me a line here or on my Facebook page! Salaam âœŒ

