Café Dissensus

By Safiya N.Y.

Today while sitting leisurely in the comforts of my home, I feel proud that my home got a few women always clad in a loose hijab. It is not an artificiality that accompanies them everywhere, but a personal artefact that clings to their hair as wind does with it or rain drenches it. After years of interaction with the outside world, I have many experiences to share with a world that genuinely wants to know how a little girl gets intimidated when she begins to wear a hijab. I have always understood from the beginnings of my girlhood that the secular world around expects me to be less medieval, less patriarchal, less conservative, less outdated, less freaking, less scary, less arrogant, everything less than what I am. It took me a while to realise that the world simply wants me to be ‘less Islamic’, whatsoever it may…

View original post 1,520 more words

