Fabulous post.

Raise your sights.

As much as I am not a big fan of the term ‘hijabi’, I cannot deny the fact that in a highly visual world, what I wear plays a big part in how people perceive me. 11203688_10152902789507081_8536241123112446633_nWomen (solo) travellers aren’t rare nor hard to find. Women hold an equal stake in the solo travelling/backpacking community today.

A hijab-ed solo traveller though is a whole different matter.

I have often been asked: “Isn’t it hard to be a solo traveller with the hijab?” and “Don’t you face any challenges while travelling around, especially in the West?”

My answer has always been the same: Not really.

Perhaps I’ve not really given it much thought prior to this. Truth be told, I’ve never seen myself as any different from the other women travellers I meet on my travels.

But you know what? I AM different.

It took a while for me to appreciate the…

View original post 1,446 more words

