What a fascinating journey of faith.

Dr. Craig Considine

Roundabout traffic sign

Published on Huffington Post Religion (06/16/15)

It was the late 1990s and the American economy was booming. Money and consumerism were the “new religion.” Christians around me seemed to be Christians in name only. Besides having a secular education, I attended Catholic Christian Doctrine once per week from the ages of six to fourteen. I dreaded going there because I never knew why religion or God were important. The person who managed the Catholic educational program was an older woman. She was always very morose and cold. She didn’t seem to be embodying the spirit of this loving guy named Jesus who teachers raved about. In the classroom, we were forced to memorize Catholic prayers even though the teachers never told us what the prayers meant. I was taught to read the Bible, but nobody ever explained to me why the stories were important. I was also instructed on how…

View original post 1,093 more words

