Excellent article….

Thoughts Of An Internet Person

A week and a half ago my friend read an article written by a Muslim feminist for a senior seminar class. The author argued that the hijab was a symbol of empowerment and dignity for women. She claimed that the hijab allows women to avoid being objectified in public, keep their privacy, and is also a symbol of her religiouscultural beliefs. Living in the United States I can only speak for American opinions, but the hijab has sparked a lot of controversy. Many see it as a symbol of oppression and I want to dig a little deeper before making such strong statements about a single piece of clothing.

I want to state that the hijab itself should not be a problem. The hijab is merely an article of clothing and I’m pretty sure people in the United States are free to dress as they please (unless you’re naked in…

View original post 678 more words

